the 1971 Project



Rebecca T with piano
Rebecca Thorn and Chris Winslet co-devised The 1971 Project in 2012. The show encapsulates the important transition of popular American music going into the 1970s and comprises our re-workings of songs taken from four seminal albums from 1971: Joni Mitchell’s ‘Blue’, Neil Young’s ‘Harvest’, Carole King’s ‘Tapestry’ and James Taylor’s ‘Mud Slide Slim’.  All of these albums were produced by singer/songwriters whose music epitomised the mood of that time, and who are still regarded as icons today.

The new arrangements weave together jazz, folk and the early seventies pop sound and yet remain faithful to the spirit of the originals.  The songs are performed by a five piece band: Rebecca Thorn on lead vocals, piano, accordion and melodica; Chris Winslet on various guitars, 5 string banjo and Appalachian dulcimer; Tony Woods on saxes, clarinet and flute; Nick Rye on drums, percussion and piano; Diane McGuire on electric and acoustic bass.  We feel that using a wide array of instruments is not only an exciting way to perform these songs but also very interesting for the audience.

In addition to the music Rebecca provides a context with anecdotes and information about the recordings and the times in which they came to exist.